5 Jawesome Things for the week of March 30, 2012

The five best things I came across in the past week.

1. Port of Morrow by The Shins

I know the scuttlebutt in all the reviews is to mention how this band shouldn’t really be called The Shins anymore since only James Mercer has stuck around. The other scuttlebutt is to mention how he was always the driving force and can call it whatever the heck he wants. Both are probably right but neither matters. What matters is that the album is pretty great. Catchy, fun, sad at times. The first single, Simple Song, is a really great hook for the album. I’ll link to it below. The songs seem a lot like classic Shins stuff with a little Danger Mouse from Mercer’s other project, Broken Bells, thrown in for good measure. There are bleeps and bloops but it’s still rock and roll to me.

2. 1957

Watching old movies is fun. I’ve already watched two from this year, and Witness for the Prosecution lined up for after I write this post. It’s a really interesting idea to focus on one year but have that be your only criteria. I’ve done a war film and Japanese adaptation of Shakespeare. A Kubrick and a Kurosawa. And there are two Bergmans, a Lean, a Wilder, a Tashlin, and countless other films to watch. The next few months are going to be fun.

3. Movies in theaters

Though I didn’t love either of the two movies I saw in the theater this week (The Hunger Games and Wrath of the Titans) they both did what they did pretty well. The Hunger Games could have used some of Wrath‘s action direction and Wrath could have used some of The Hunger Games‘ thematic and emotional weight. Or not. All I know is that I could understand what was happening in most of Wrath‘s fight scenes, which is more than I can say for much of The Hunger Games. Also, Wrath has Bill Nighy doing his Pirates role to even bigger extremes, which is awesome.

4. A new look at EDAP

Every Day A Photo is my photography website where I post one picture I’ve taken every day. Simple, yes, but effective. I’ve moved back to wordpress and the duotone theme, which does a neat little trick of changing the background color to complement the picture each day. So go check it out. Looks cool.

5. Adventure Time

I’m getting all caught up with the third season of this absurd, post-apocalyptic, awesome tv show. The show is, as always, hilarious. Mathematical! And this week we also got news that the entirety of season 1 will soon be released on DVD. Hooray! finally we can die!

 

One thought on “5 Jawesome Things for the week of March 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

