25 Christmas Things: Day 12 – Doctor Who

The first episode of Doctor Who I ever watched was its 2010 Christmas episode in which the Doctor must inspire a grumpy old alien (Michael Gambon) to be less mean so he can let an out of control spaceship land. There’s also a flying shark. In the end the Doctor uses a bit of time travel to become the ghost of Christmases past present and future all in one. It’s yet another clever twist on the old Christmas Carol formula and worked as an excellent introduction to the Doctor and his wonderful universe. In fact, his line at the end of the scene above is what sealed it for me, “You know in 900 years of time and space I’ve never met anyone who wasn’t important before.” That’s an ethos I can get behind. The episode inspired me to immediately seek out the rest of the Doctor’s run available at the time, starting with the 2005 reboot. I learned that the Christmas episode was kind of a thing and though none have yet topped that first one I saw, it’s always a nice to to rejoin the Doctor and his companions for an hour on Christmas day. This year promises great excitement as it will be the end of the 11th incarnation of the character and the beginning of the 12th. Matt Smith has been my favorite Doctor so far but I can’t wait to see what Peter Capaldi brings to the role.

Leave a Reply

